Feb 17, 2015
Hear Two New Tracks From Passion Pit’s Upcoming ‘Kindred’ Album

Fresh on the heels of their massive collaboration with Madeon, Passion Pit give fans a double dose of the group’s forthcoming album Kindred with the arrival of two new tracks, Lifted Up (1985) and Where The Sky Hangs.

Passion Pit released the tracks in the form of music videos, each featuring the same boy in a single shot, slow-motion recording. The video for Lifted Up (1985) features the boy staring directly into a camera from what looks like a Thanksgiving dinner table. It has a creepy, Wes Anderson vibe to it, but the uplifting audio from Passion Pit reduces any uneasiness from the visuals. Lifted Up (1985) has everything that frontman Michael Angelakos and company are known for. It’s a light, nostalgic number filled with chirping synths, inspiring vocals, and anthemic composition.

Where The Sky Hangs features a similarly creepy video, but a more interesting sound from Passion Pit. The track showcases plenty of synth, but is carried by a funk-fueled bassline and melody that reveal an extra layer of diversity to the synth-pop heroes. You can check out both tracks in the videos below.

Kindred is out April 21 via Columbia. Pre-orders of the album come with downloads of both Lifted Up (1985) and Where The Sky Hangs and can be made over on iTunes here.

1. Lifted Up (1985)
2. Whole Life Story
3. Where the Sky Hangs
4. All I Want
5. Five Foot Ten (I)
6. Dancing On The Grave
7. Until We Can’t (Let’s Go)
8. Looks Like Rain
9. My Brother Taught Me How To Swim
10. Ten Feet Tall (II)

Airplay enabled