Jun 04, 2014
Richie Hawtin Announces New Plastikman Album

Today might be his birthday, but Richie Hawtin gives us the best present of all: the promise of a new Plastikman album.

For the first time in more than a decade, Richie will once again assume his Plastikman alias for a new live album, EX. The album was recorded during a special performance in the annual fundraiser at The Guggenheim, New York’s historic art museum, which Hawtin played at the invitation of influential Belgian fashion designer Raf Simons.

But this is no mere live recording of old material. Richie made the announcement via his Facebook page, where he explained the origins of the new album:

11 years after the last album “Closer”, I’m very happy to announce the NEW Plastikman album “EX”.

Last November while I was preparing for a special Plastikman performance at the Guggenheim Museum in New York, I blocked out time in my schedule and locked myself away in a series of intense and inspiring studio sessions. Quickly and nearly effortlessly (that’s what happens when inspiration hits), I recorded enough material for the performance and then realized that there might be a complete new album within. Performing this new material at the Guggenheim allowed me to step away from the dance floor, giving me a huge amount of freedom to explore any sonic idea that I had.

EX is an EXcursion into the past EXploring the uncertainty of the future, EXpanding and EXtending the immersive atmospheres of what a Plastikman album was always about.

Listen to a preview of EX and check out the full tracklist below. The album is set to be released June 10 via Mute.

1. EXposed
2. EXtend
3. EXpand
4. EXtrude
5. EXplore
6. EXpire
7. EXhale

Airplay enabled