May 03, 2015
PREMIERE: The Prototypes – City Of Gold (Extended Mix) [Viper]
The Prototypes - City Of Gold (Extended Mix) [Viper]

The Prototypes have kept a conspicuous profile since signing to Viper Recordings in late 2013. The Brighton duo have authored some of D&B’s biggest anthems in the last two years, including D&B chart-toppers like Pale Blue Dot and Don’t Let Me Go.

Only a few short weeks ago the producers shot up to the top of the charts again with their upfront tune Pop It Off–their first release of 2015. Now, The Prototypes ready their highly anticipated debut LP for release on May 17, and LessThan3 is proud to bring fans an advanced screening of the album’s title-track, City of Gold.

City of Gold is rife with cinematic flair, luring listeners on a sonic journey via a spoken narrative similar to Pendulum’s Masochist. The narrative is joined by a sweeping, analog-esque chord progression, and an emotive arpeggio, both of which lend to the tune’s palpable film noir flavor. Eventually, City of Gold’s cinematic vibe transforms into a medley of chaos, as a crushing bassline is introduced on top of a reverberant plucked lead. By the time the track concludes, the slow-moving cinematic vistas established early on are completely replaced by a sweat-inducing, frenetic groove.

To receive a free copy of the City of Gold track, click here to pre-order The Prototypes’ debut album ahead of its May 17 release via Viper Recordings. Scroll down for the City of Gold tracklist (digital bonus tracks not listed) and album art.

City of Gold Tracklist:

1. City Of Gold
2. Pop It Off (feat. Mad Hed City)
3. Under (feat. Ayak)
4. Kill The Silence (feat. Ayah Marar)
5. Abyss 2015
6. Edge Of Tomorrow
7. Fallen (feat. Donae’o)
8. Pale Blue Dot
9. Is It Love (feat. Laconic)
10. Don’t Let Me Go (feat. Amy Pearson)
11. The Journey Continues
12. Redose
13. Humanoid
14. Slip Away

city of gold

Follow The Prototypes: Facebook / Twitter / SoundCloud
Follow Viper Recordings: Facebook / Twitter / SoundCloud

Airplay enabled