Jan 23, 2013
Oliver Will Make You Move
Oliver - MYB (Original Mix) [Fool's Gold]
Oliver - Night Is On My Mind (Original Mix) [Fool's Gold]
Oliver - Mechanical (Original Mix) [Fool's Gold]

There are many ways to describe Mechanical, Oliver’s new EP, but it can all be summed up in one word: tasteful. The Los Angeles-based duo, which consists of Oliver “Oligee” Goldstein & Vaughn “U-Tern” Oliver, has already left a good impression on disco junkies and house lovers alike, from remixing artists such as Penguin Prison and Foster The People, to their original works, such as their recent collaboration with A-trak. It’s no surprise, then, that Fool’s Gold has signed them for this latest release.

Take the first track, MYB, is just flawless, as far as disco house goes, and it won’t take long for you to figure out what it stands for, whether you’re a veteran or an amateur. Oliver then brings the tempo down with The Night Is On My Mind, which uses samples from A Tribe Called Quest to produce that electro-funk sound that few other artists have mastered. The last of this four track EP, Mechanical, inspires a spacey, floaty feeling, which may leave you struggling to find the correct words with which to describe it. Is it dubstep? Maybe. Is it disco? Why yes, yes it is.

The Mechanical EP is available for purchase on Beatport, but if you find yourself craving more, which you most definitely will, browse through their Soundcloud.

Airplay enabled