Oct 11, 2013
James Murphy Remixes David Bowie’s ‘Love is Lost’

A James Murphy remix of David Bowie’s Love Is Lost released yesterday, just in time for a November 5th reissue of Bowie’s 2013 LP The Next Day. The remix, a 10-minute escapade of synth-laden funk dubbed the “Hello Steve Reich Mix by James Murphy,” is also set to appear on the reissue.

Regarding the mix, Murphy said in an interview with Consequence Of Sound that he was “obsessed with Steve Reich’s clapping music” and that “it was originally going to be a whole remix, just clapping.”

You can currently listen to the track via a private link on SoundCloud.

The Next Day Collectors Edition Tracklist:

01. Atomica*
02. Love is Lost (Hello Steve Reich Mix by James Murphy)*
03. Plan
04. The Informer*
05. Like a Rocket Man*
06. Born in a UFO*
07. I’d Rather Be High (Venetian Mix)*
08. I’ll Take You There
09. God Bless the Girl*
10. So She

* = previously unreleased

Airplay enabled