Jun 17, 2015
Get Cozy With DJ Koze’s DJ-Kicks Compilation
DJ Koze - I Haven't Been Everywhere But It's On My List (Original Mix) [DJ-Kicks]
Mndsgn - Camelblues (Kosi Edit)
Frank & Tony - Bring The Sun feat. Gry (Kosi Edit)

!K7 Records’ revered DJ-Kicks series has featured some of dance music’s best and brightest underground stars. For the special 50th edition, legendary Hamburg producer/DJ and Pampa Records boss DJ Koze has hopped on mixing duties and served up an 70-minute experimental trip through what he calls a “modern party mix.” Comfy? Cosy? It’s time to dive in.

The compilation opens with Koze’s own otherworldly exclusive, I Haven’t Been Everywhere But It’s On My List, and from there it dips and dives through a plethora of eclectic productions from the likes of Boards of Canada, Strong Arm Steady, and yes, even William Shatner, covering a host of genres including hip hop, house, and techno. Along the way, Koze litters the compilation with multiple Kosi edits. The mix also features Koze’s signature use of unusual vocals, which add to the odd yet enjoyable trip.

“This is a modern party mix,” Koze told Red Bull. “Modern party mixes are a little bit deeper, a little slower. You have the luxury of reducing the screaming sickness we are facing every day. It’s nice if you have an opportunity to cocoon yourself away and spend an hour with some music that doesn’t want you to do anything.”

Pick up the 19-track compilation, as well as the continuous mix, on Beatport here.

01. DJ Koze – I Haven’t Been Everywhere But It’s On My List (DJ-KiCKS)
02. Dimlite – Can’t Get Used To Those? (Kosi Edit)
03. Efdemin – Ohara
04. cLOUDDEAD – Dead Dogs Two (Boards Of Canada Remix)
05. Strong Arm Steady – Best Of Times (Instrumental)
06. Homeboy Sandman – Holiday (Kosi & Fink’s Edit)
07. Freddie Gibbs & Madlib – Shame (Instrumental)
08. Mndsgn – Camelblues (Kosi Edit)
09. Broadcast – Tears In The Typing Pool
10. Daniel Lanois – Carla
11. Hi-Tek / The 2 Bears – Come Get It (Tekstrumental)
12. Modern Family (Kosi Kos Mélange)
13. William Shatner – It Hasn’t Happened Yet
14. Marker Starling – In Stride
15. Session Victim – Hyuwee (DJ Koze Remix)
16. Frank & Tony – Bring The Sun feat. Gry (Kosi Edit)
17. Marcel Fengler – Jaz (Kosi Edit)
18. Portable feat. Lcio – Surrender (Kosi Edit)
19. The Gentle People – Superstar

Airplay enabled