Jan 23, 2014
Dive Into The Deep 08
Newbie Nerdz - Everytime (Leon DubbiTrippy Remix) [Gruuv]
Special Case - Lab Rap (Original Mix) [Get Physical]
David Herrero - O'clock (Original Mix) [Defected]
Marc DePulse, Overnite, Hollis P. Monroe - No Need To Worry (Club Re-Rub) [Noir]
Citizen Kaine, Phuture Traxx - I Want You (Dustin Zahn Monolith Remix) [Tiger]

Welcome back to Dive Into The Deep, our weekly roundup of the finest deep and tech releases. Although last week’s edition saw indie labels reign supreme, some of our favorites, like Defected, Noir, and Get Physical, return to their rightful place in the series.

Editing the list of releases to include this week was akin to a mother choosing which of her children she likes best, but some tunes, just like children, simply stand out. If you’re experiencing the polar vortex again and cursing our neighbors to the north, grab your best pair of headphones, and warm yourself up with our five choices of the week.

Newbie Nerdz – Everytime (Leon DubbiTrippy Remix) [Gruuv]

Italian DJ and Producer duo Alex Vovel and Dario Frenda’s latest offering includes two original productions, Everytime and I Am So, along with two remixes by Leon and Last Magpie, respectively. Each track could have easily made this edition of DITD, but it’s Leon’s injection of a hooky drum and psychedelic atmospherics that made his mix standout. Although their I Am So EP is only Newbie Nerdz’ second release, 2014 is certainly shaping up to be a groundbreaking year for the talented duo.
Purchase Here

Special Case – Lab Rap (Original Mix) [Get Physical]
Russian trio Arram Mantana, Tripmastaz, and Roustam come together as Special Case for their debut EP on Get Physical Records, a label that requires no further introduction. The EP begins with Lab Rap, a laid-back tune that opens with thumping bass chords and groovy, alternating claps. Deep synths and futuristic elements polish off the title track and set the tone for the remainder of the EP. Be sure to give Hanfry Martinez and Javier Carballos’ remix a listen if you’re looking for a slightly faster, dubbier, tech house jam.
Purchase Here

David Herrero – O’clock (Original Mix) [Defected]

David Herrero began his career in Spain as a DJ, though his more recent decision to add producing to his list of talents is a much welcomed one. Herrero enters the new year with his Bad Day EP, a massive three-track release that perfectly embodies the cool, sexy vibe we’ve come to associate with the British label. O’clock finishes the EP strong with its weighty, analogue bassline and chopped-up vocals. Although Herrero’s original productions have been released on VIVa MUSiC and Suara, it’s his triumphant return to Defected that is sure to increase the Spaniard’s clout in the deep/tech world.
Purchase Here

Marc DePulse, Overnite, Hollis P. Monroe – No Need To Worry (Club Re-Rub) [Noir]
This week’s release of Marc DePulse’s No Need To Worry marks the German artist’s long-awaited single debut on Noir Music. DePulse, whose real name is Marcel Sterling, employed label favorites Hollis P. Monroe and Overnite for the soulful vocals’ writing and performing duties. When combining the emotive vocal, hypnotic percussion, a heavy bassline, and a chunky beat, the result is a bouncy-yet-sensual tech house groove. Noir included the original mix in his Noir Recommends podcast Nov. 28, 2013, but it’s the Club Re-Rub that won us over.

Purchase Here

Citizen Kain, Phuture Traxx – I Want You (Dustin Zahn Monolith Remix) [Tiger]
Dustin Zahn has revisited I Want You, and his second remix is darker and more industrial. The self-proclaimed “Minneapolis-based love machine” draws upon the ominous elements of his 24 Hours Later Remix and speeds the track up slightly to create a mesmerizing techno bomb. On the day his Monolith Remix was released on Tiger Records, Zahn announced that he would be releasing his debut album, the appropriately titled Monoliths, on Drumcode in March.

Purchase Here