Oct 23, 2013
deadmau5 Joins Astralwerks, Drops First Release

After leaving Ultra in one of the more public label departures of recent memory, Joel Zimmerman, aka deadmau5, has announced that he will be making a new home at Astralwerks, a subsidiary of EMI, which is also home to the late Swedish House Mafia, Eric Prydz, and, of course, Astral-naut Mat Zo.

To celebrate the partnership, Astralwerks will be releasing mau5trap’s We Are Friends Vol. 2 on Nov. 12, with pre-ordering available now. Recently surfaced mau5 production Suckfest9001 and a new slice called Your Ad Here will be included on the comp, with Suckfest9001 ready for purchase and Spotify streaming immediately, making it the inaugural deadmau5 release on Astralwerks (cue confetti and victory music).

According to a press release from Astralwerks, the label will be the new home of future deadmau5 releases and the distributor and label partner for deadmau5’s own mau5trap recordings, and mau5trap will continue to operate independently under the watchful, glowing eye of its mau5ter out of the Toronto offices. Check out the tracklist below, “watch” the Suckfest9001 video below, and pre-order here.

“We Are Friends” Vol. 2 Tracklist
1. deadmau5 – Your Ad Here
2. deadmau5 – Suckfest9001
3. BSOD – Super Breakfast
4. Aron H – Entrance
5. Eekkoo – Lekture
6. Heat Maxwell – FreakShow
7. James Njie – In Transit
8. James Njie – The Right Time
9. Kairo Kingdom – 3030
10. Kairo Kingdom – Machine Empire
11. Al Bizarre – Crime