May 20, 2015
Alina Baraz & Galimatias Release ‘Urban Flora’ EP
Alina Baraz & Galimatias - Drift (Original Mix) [Ultra]
Alina Baraz & Galimatias - Fantasy (Original Mix) [Ultra]
Alina Baraz & Galimatias - Maybe (Original Mix) [Ultra]
Alina Baraz & Galimatias - Show Me (Original Mix) [Ultra]

Danish producer Galimatias and LA vocalist Alina Baraz (pictured above) are a match made in heaven, and they prove it with the release of their highly anticipated Urban Flora EP.

Originally formed in 2013 after meeting through SoundCloud, their musical partnership has scored a series of hits and millions of listens. Combining Galimatias’ penchant for soaring, downtempo beats with Baraz’ ethereal vocals, Urban Flora is well balanced to enhance both artists’ strengths in a stunning collaborative fashion, and the EP has already landed the top spot on the electronic chart on iTunes.

Drift is the first track the two created together after Baraz sang her vocals over Galimatias’ original production. Fantasy, their most popular track with over 12 million plays on SoundCloud, is an R&B infusion laden with soft progressing piano chords interspersed between Baraz’ sugar-sweet crooning lyrics.

Though keeping the elegance and sexy atmosphere in place, Maybe shifts gears and adds in distant guitar chords for a blues attitude that matches the romantic conflict of Baraz’ heartbreaking lyrics. Their most recent release, Show Me, unfolds like lovers meeting in the dead of the night through the interplay of pitched-down vocals that work in tandem with Baraz’ own voice.

No word yet if Alina Baraz and Galimatias plan to tour together, but you can grab the full EP here via Ultra.

1. Show Me
2. Drift
3. Can I
4. Fantasy
5. Make You Feel
6. Maybe
7. Pretty Thoughts
8. Unfold

urban flora

Airplay enabled